Tags

, , , ,

Last week an old friend contacted me about making a Simchat Habat (Jewish naming ceremony) certificate for his 1-year-old granddaughter. I jumped at the opportunity to create something new and partipate in this special event. The baby’s name is Summer, which immediately brought to mind golden light and sunflowers. Here are some photos of the finished certificate:

ImageImageImage

I was graciously invited to attend the ceremony, which was the most rewarding piece of this creative adventure. Stuffed into a living room filled with family and friends, several of whom held a tallis overhead while blessings were recited, I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. I’ve always wanted to make art in the spirit of community, and this event showed me that I am closer than ever to reaching my goal.

